Let Us Know How To Watch NASA’s Perseverance Rover Land On Mars

Let Us Know How To Watch NASA’s Perseverance Rover Land On Mars

Reading Time: 3 minutes

NASA’s Mars rover Perseverance is merely days away from a nerve-racking landing on the Red Planet on Thursday i.e Feb. 18 and you can watch the historic event unfold live online. 

The Perseverance rover will land on Mars on Thursday at 3:55 p.m. EST or 2055 GMT, but NASA’s webcasts for the event truly begin today i.e Feb. 16 at 1 p.m. EST or1800 GMT. 

NASA’s live landing broadcast on Thursday starts at 2:15 p.m. EST or1915 GMT. You may watch that live on Space.com’s homepage, courtesy of NASA, or directly from NASA’s YouTube channel. Spanish speakers will have another broadcast available on a NASA Spanish channel, which will be the agency’s first Spanish-language landing show. You may ask questions on any of NASA’s social media feeds (@NASA) using the hashtag #CountdowntoMars.  

With the latest generation of rovers, landers and orbiters progressing to the Red Planet, we’re finding even more of this world’s secrets than ever before. Find out about its landscape and formation, unveil the truth about water on Mars and the search for life, and examine the probability that the fourth rock from the sun may become our next home someday.

Launched in July 2020, Perseverance is the newest in a series of missions centred on estimating how livable Mars was in the ancient past. The mission signifies a critical pivot point in NASA’s Mars exploration as the rover will store the most promising samples for a future Mars sample-return mission to Earth later this decade if everything goes as per schedule.

Another memorable accomplishment for the Perseverance mission will be a helicopter, called Ingenuity, that will test flying on Mars for the first time. The expectation is to use such small drones for scouting ahead of astronaut missions or searching dangerous regions, in future Mars missions.

Go through NASA TV webcast guide for NASA’s Mars Perseverance rover landing this week. NASA also has a Mars 2020 rover STEM toolkit available here for students and teachers.

Tuesday, Feb. 16

Press conferences on NASA TV/JPL YouTube

  • 1 p.m. EST (1800 GMT): News briefing covering a mission overview and technology.  Ask questions at @NASA using #CountdownToMars.   
  • 3:30 p.m. EST (2030 GMT): News briefing covering a science overview. Ask questions at @NASA using #CountdownToMars.
  • 7 p.m. EST (2300 GMT): NASA Social Mars Perseverance event on YouTube

Student briefings on JPL Education Channel

  • 11:30 a.m. EST (1640 GMT): High school student countdown to landing.  
  • 2:30 p.m. EST (1930 GMT): Middle-school students countdown to landing webcast.

Wednesday, Feb. 17

Press conferences on NASA TV/JPL YouTube

  • 1 p.m. EST (1800 GMT): News briefing including a mission status update and a preview of the next day’s landing activities. Ask questions at @NASA using #CountdownToMars.
  • 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT): News briefing including a discussion of ancient life and Mars sample return. Ask questions at @NASA using #CountdownToMars.

Student briefings on JPL Education Channel

  •  12:30 p.m. EST (1750 GMT): Elementary school student countdown to landing.  

Thursday, Feb. 18 (landing day) and beyond

Landing day webcasts on NASA TV/JPL YouTube

  • 2:15 p.m. EST (1915 GMT): NASA Mars rover Perseverance landing webcast begins
  • 2:30 p.m. EST (1930 GMT): NASA’s Spanish-language Perseverance landing webcast begins
  • 3:55 p.m. EST (2055 GMT): LANDING TIME for Mars rover Perseverance
  • Around 5:30 p.m. EST (2230 GMT): Post landing press conference. 

Post-landing update briefings NASA TV/JPL YouTube

  •  Friday, Feb. 19 at 1 p.m. EST (1800 GMT): Perseverance rover update. 
  •  Monday, Feb. 22 at 2 p.m. EST (1900 GMT): Perseverance rover update.  

You can also join the Perseverance Mars rover landing virtually by signing up for NASA’s social media event. NASA also has a “virtual guest experience” available for the public to participate in to celebrate the landing.

Read More

Tags: , ,

Related posts

Subscribe to our Newsletter