How to Delete Other Storage on an iPhone and iPad

How to Delete Other Storage on an iPhone and iPad

One of the most useful commodities of your iPhone or iPad is the storage capacity and when it starts to fill, it can be very traumatic, particularly if you are using 64 GB or even less storage space.

Testing how much space is used will show an unusual group named Other, which often contains several data in gigabytes. So what is this Other and can you clean it from your iPhone or iPad?

Note: It looks like iOS 13.6 will allow Other to take up more than their fair share of memory. While Apple neglected to address the issue in their notes following the release of iOS 13.6.1, it has published a supporting document explaining that the bug may prohibit the device from freeing up your storage on iOS or iPadOS 13. To fix this problem you need to update your iPhone or iPad to iOS or iPadOS 13.6.1.

What’s taking up iPhone Storage?

To start with you may want to know how the storage is filling up on your iPhone or iPad.

  1. Go to Settings
  2. Select General
  3. Click on the iPhone [or iPad] Storage
  4. Wait till it calculates the category sizes

You will find it in the graph as shown below. Also, take a look at the Other category here

What is Other Storage?

Look at the line graph where the divisions break down and the separate color-coded areas are highlighted, including Other. iOS and iPadOS differentiates data into separate categories like files, images, applications, devices, etc. Anything that doesn’t fit in these categories is labeled as Other. This would typically include stuff like cache data, notifications, records, extra voices from Siri, as well as vague data that you have downloaded.

You will also note that your iPhone can build cache files for managing all text messages and pictures or streaming video contents smoothly. They can be deleted immediately after use but often they linger in the Other segment and take up an immense amount of space.

Can I delete Other storage?

You cannot click a button and clear the Other folder because of its invisible status, but items that fill up Other storage can be made thinner. We highly suggest making a full back-up of your iPhone or iPad if something goes wrong.

How do I delete Other storage?

You should look at different aspects when you need to deal with the Other space in your device. Some of the choices are listed below.

Clear App Caches

The most apparent thing is to search for apps that might hoard caches. Do the following to verify this:

  1. Go to settings
  2. Click General
  3. Go to iPhone [or iPad] Storage
  4. Now scroll down the different apps listed in the storage map to see the list of applications and the storage quantity they have used.

5. Select one and a more detailed breakdown will be given to you. It’s not like diagnose a forensic data because only App size and documents & data are available, but if the application looks extremely high, you can attempt to enter into the application itself and delete items.

If things don’t improve you can also uninstall the app and reinstall it since it would also erase all saved info. But, before undertaking this path, you must ensure that you have back-ups of all critical details. Follow our How to uninstall iPhone & iPad apps for further information.

Clear Safari Caches

Another great suggestion is to clear the caches in Safari since these will take up a lot of space. Take the following measure to achieve this:

  1. Go to Settings
  2. Click Safari
  3. Select Clear History and Website Data.

But there is a problem here, as sites in which you previously visited temporarily take longer to load and enable you to re-access, so you do not visit them until you have deleted the cache.

These steps are available on our guide to clear the cache on your iPhone or iPad.

Limit the time that Messages are stored

Messages on the Other domain are frequent perpetrators, so you may want to restrict the amount of conversation or messages in your device. Apple provides you with time-related options so that you can get rid of chats that are older than a year or two.

  1. Go to Settings
  2. Select Messages
  3. Inside the Message History click Keep Message

4. Three options will also be available on how long your device can store past chats. Like 30 days, one year, or forever. Forever is selected as default, so change it according to your convenience. You can save everything in iCloud.

Tags: , , ,

Related posts

Subscribe to our Newsletter